Howard Center welcomes new board members and elects officers

-A A +A
Mon, 01/22/2018 - 1:50pm -- Denise Sortor

Howard Center recently appointed Hillary Orsini and Thato Ratsebe to serve on its Board of Trustees for three-year terms. Orsini has extensive experience in organizational development and is a Program Manager at Vermont Energy Investment Corporation. She is an active volunteer and serves on the boards of several local non-profit organizations. She has a Master of Science in Management: Mission-Driven Organizations, Marlboro College, and was a Vermont Business Magazine Rising Star in 2014. She lives in Colchester.

Ratsebe is a communication professional with extensive experience in public relations, research, and development in non-profit organizations in the United States and Canada. She is currently the Assistant Director for the Association of Africans Living in Vermont (AALV). She has a Master of Science degree in Administration and Management from St. Michael’s College and lives in Essex Junction.

In addition, Kerrick Johnson and George Philibert were each elected for another three-year term, and new officers were elected as follows: Mike Simoneau as president, Debra Stenner as vice president, George Philibert as treasurer, and Connie Stabler as secretary.

The following honorary board members were also elected Mark Baglini, Elizabeth Bassett, Todd Centybear, Jack Dwyer, William Heaslip, James Leddy, Karen O’Neill, Marna Tulin, PhD, and Anthony Villanti.

Last year, Howard Center helped 16,000 people in over 60 locations and six counties with their mental health needs, substance use conditions, and developmental disabilities. Howard Center’s 24/7/365 mobile crisis service, First Call for Chittenden County, relies on one team and one number, 802-488-7777, to meet the needs of Chittenden County children, adults, and families in crisis. Howard Center is a funded agency of the United Way of Northwest Vermont. Help is here.