Contemporary Design Group names Lyndon Furniture design award winner

-A A +A

Contemporary Design Group names Lyndon Furniture design award winner

Wed, 12/06/2017 - 1:28pm -- tim

Vermont Business Magazine The Contemporary Design Group has named the winner of the group’s 2017 Edward Haimsohn Design Award. First place went to Molinari Design for the Rondo seating collection. The Rondo collection features a sofa and chair designed by Lucy Kurrein that was inspired by punching bags. First runner up went to the Unity dining table, designed by Sean Breen and Shawn Straffin for Lyndon Furniture.

Unity Table by Sean Breen and Shawn Straffin of Lyndon Furniture.

The second runner up was the Apelle chaise lounge chair by Beatriz Sempere for Midj, and the third runner up was awarded to Mellow Seating by Stefan Heiliger for Koiner Planum Furniture.

A panel of judges, consisting of CDG retailer members, evaluated nominees on originality, creativity, consumer appeal, use of materials, functionality and manufacturing execution. The winner was announced last week at the Contemporary Design Group’s Annual Conference in San Diego.

The Edward Haimsohn Design award recognizes manufacturers producing outstanding and original furniture designs. The award is named after CDG's co-founder, Edward Haimsohn, who was well known for his strong eye for design and attention to quality.

The Contemporary Design Group is a national association of independent home furnishings showrooms, specializing in modern and contemporary design. The group includes 40 showrooms with retail members in 37 cities from coast to coast.

Source: Contemporary Design Group