53 current and 26 former lawmakers endorse Minter for governor

-A A +A

53 current and 26 former lawmakers endorse Minter for governor

Thu, 07/14/2016 - 10:54pm -- tim

Vermont Business Magazine Calling it a testament to Sue Minter’s leadership and her ability to get things done, 79 past and present lawmakers including 14 committee chairs and 2 former Speakers of the House endorsed Sue Minter for governor. At the State House in Montpelier, several legislative leaders highlighted Minter’s commitment to renewable energy and cleaning up Vermont’s waterways, plan to provide two-years free tuition to Vermont Technical College and the Community College of Vermont, commitment to creating jobs and economic vitality, and more in offering their strong endorsement.

“I’ve served with Sue Minter in the Vermont Legislature, and worked closely with her as Secretary of the Agency of Transportation,” said Representative Tony Klein of East Montpelier, chair of the House Natural Resources and Energy Committee. “Some candidates are talking about rolling back some of our critical recent accomplishments on clean water and energy. What we need is a governor who will protect the progress we have made and fight to go even further, faster. I know Sue Minter is the right person for the job.”

Klein adds. “Vermont is ready for its second woman governor. It’s time.”

Senator Ginny Lyons of Chittenden County noted that Minter has put forward proposals to create livable wage jobs in Chittenden County and across the state. Industries like manufacturing, outdoor recreation and value-added agriculture will benefit. "From renewable energy businesses to our tourism industry and local agricultural producers, Sue's plans will give Vermont entrepreneurs and businesses tools to continue to grow and innovate." Lyons also notes that Vermont has only had one female governor in 225 years, “It’s time.”

"I’m looking for a leader with progressive values I can count on to make things happen. And that's Sue Minter,” says Senator Anthony Pollina of Washington County. "Sue's strong support for a state ethics commission, tuition free public education at Community College and Vermont Tech, divestment from coal and increasing local investment strategies are some examples of her commitment to progressive change. While other candidates talk about change, Sue has a plan and the vision to get things done for Vermont right now.”

Senator Dick Sears of Bennington County, chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee, said he appreciates Minter’s plan to strengthen downtowns and communities, and was impressed by her ability to bring together federal, state, local and private groups to help rebuild Vermont – particularly hard-hit southern Vermont – after Tropical Storm Irene.

“When Sue sees a problem, she shifts into action to get it solved,” Sears said. “She has my vote.”

These legislators join former Governor Madeleine Kunin, former Governor Phil Hoff, former Lieutenant Governor Doug Racine as well as 40 leading Vermont Environmentalists, 14 Vermont authors and artists and EMILY’s List in endorsing Minter.

Current Legislators:
Sen. Claire Ayer, Chair of Senate Committee on Health and Welfare
Sen. Ann Cummings, Chair of Senate Committee on Education
Sen. Jeanette White, Chair of Senate Committee on Government Operations, Co-Chair of Public Records Legislative Study Committee
Sen. Becca Balint
Sen. Ginny Lyons
Sen. Anthony Pollina

Rep. Janet Ancel, Chair of House Committee on Ways and Means, Co-Chair of Health Reform Oversight Committee
Rep. David Deen, Chair of House Committee on Fish, Wildlife, and Water Resources
Rep. Patsy French, Chair of Legislative Committee on Administrative Rules
Rep. Maxine Grad, Chair of House Committee on Judiciary
Rep. Helen Head, Chair of House Committee on General, Housing, and Military Affairs
Rep. Mitzi Johnson, Chair of House Committee on Appropriations
Rep. Tony Klein, Chair of House Committee on Natural Resources and Energy, Chair of Joint Energy Committee
Rep. Bill Lippert Jr., Chair of House Committee on Health Care
Rep. Anne O’Brien, Co-Chair of Government Accountability Committee
Rep. Ann Pugh, Chair of House Committee on Human Services, Chair of Joint Legislative Child Protection Oversight Committee
Rep. David Sharpe, Chair of House Committee on Education
Rep. Mollie Burke
Rep. Sarah Buxton
Rep. Joanna Cole
Rep. Timothy Corcoran II
Rep. Leigh Dakin
Rep. Maureen Dakin
Rep. Sandy Haas
Rep. Mary Hooper
Rep. Willem Jewett
Rep. Kathleen Keenan
Rep. Warren Kitzmiller
Rep. Robert Krebs
Rep. Martin LaLonde
Rep. Diane Lanpher
Rep. Joan Lenes
Rep. Linda Martin
Rep. James Masland
Rep. Curt McCormack
Rep. James McCullough
Rep. Kiah Morris
Rep. Michael Mrowicki
Rep. Betty Nuovo
Rep. Jean O’Sullivan
Rep. Paul Poirier
Rep. David Potter
Rep. Herbert “Herb” Russell
Rep. Marjorie Ryerson
Rep. Amy Sheldon
Rep. Valerie Stuart
Rep. Mary Sullivan
Rep. George Till
Rep. Kitty Toll
Rep. Maida Townsend
Rep. Mark Woodward
Rep. Michael Yantachka
Rep. Theresa Wood

Former Legislators:
Fmr. Rep. Timothy “Tim” O’Connor, Jr., Speaker of the House, Chair of House Committee on Judiciary
Fmr. Rep. Gaye Symington, Speaker of the House
Fmr. Rep. Martha Heath, Chair of House Committee on Appropriations
Fmr. Rep. Mark Larson, Co-Chair of Health Care Reform Commission
Fmr. Rep. Steven “Maier, Chair of House Committee on Health Care
Fmr. Rep. Val Vincent, Chair of House Committee on Education
Fmr. Rep. Peg Andrews
Fmr. Rep. Denise Barnard
Fmr. Rep. George Cross
Fmr. Rep. Sarah Edwards
Fmr. Rep. Rachel Eschenbacher
Fmr. Rep. Michael Fisher
Fmr. Sen. Gerry Gossens
Fmr. Rep. Paul Hannan
Fmr. Rep. Carol Hosford
Fmr. Rep. Kathy Hoyt
Fmr. Rep. Michele Kupersmith
Fmr. Rep. Jason Lorber
Fmr. Rep. Cynthia Martin
Fmr. Rep. Kathy Pellett
Fmr. Rep. Peter Peltz
Fmr. Sen. Stephen Reynes
Fmr. Rep. Judy Rosenstreich
Fmr. Rep. Ernie Shand Jr.
Fmr. Rep. Jeff Wilson
Fmr. Rep. Suzi Wizowaty

Source: Minter Campaign 7.14.2016